Organization of the city

The municipal leadership is divided into political and occupational leadership.

The major municipal officers of Kuopio are the Mayor, three Service Directors, Customer Directors and service Managers.

The city administration includes the City Council, City Board, committees, boards and other organs named in the rules of procedure.

Services sectors

The city organization is divided into six service sectors (pages in Finnish):

Each service sector is an administrative entity that provides or arranges services for members of the community or other service users. Each sector also manages the official duties which belong to this sector.

Support services

The aim of Support Services is to support and guide the service sectors and other operational units of the city in achieving their objectives. The Support Services consist of seven sectors:

  • City Office
  • Strategic Land Use Planning
  • Financial and Strategic Services
  • Employer Services
  • Corporate Governance and Consilidated Facilities
  • Farm Relief Services